The Wonder Wander

02/08/2017

Defenestration of My Computer

Filed under: Chrome OS,Computers,Linux,Windows — Tom Malley @ 1:10 pm

According to various sources on the internet, the term “defenestration” was coined in the early 17th century.  It refers to throwing someone or something out of a window, coming from the Latin “de” meaning down from, and “fenestra” meaning window. One of my favorite uses of the term is in the research study on the defenestration of cats. For those of you who like cats, it’s not what you think.  But I will leave that for the interested student to look up.

However, in modern English, the prefix “de” means to undo, reverse, or do the opposite of the following verb. Which brings me to the reason for writing this post.

I am going to defenestrate my computer.  No, I am not going to throw it out of the window. Although after spending about 40 hours trying to install the Windows 10 Anniversary Update I have been tempted to do so. But it isn’t the computer’s fault.

I am going to de-Windows my computer.

I upgraded my computer to Windows 10 from Windows 8.1.  I didn’t have any of the problems other people had. It went quite smoothly. In fact, I have been pretty happy with Windows 10 until the anniversary update showed up about three weeks ago.

But that blasted update will not install. I’ve gone through Microsoft’s list of things to do and browsed through other tech articles on sure-fire ways to get the update to work. Nothing has worked. The only thing left to do is to restore the current version of Windows, and I don’t want to do that.

I had to restore my Windows 8.1 operating system a couple of times because of a glitch in the video settings on the control panel. When you restore, you lose all of your apps. So if your computer came installed with a program you liked, tough. It’s gone.  If you downloaded a special program to support your hobby–gone. Of course, you can always reload them.  If you wrote down your installation key, and if the program is still available.

But what usually happens is that I forget what I had installed until I need to use something, and it isn’t there. Then you have to find it and install it.  What a hassle.

I know, it really shouldn’t be a big deal. So I have to restore my OS and reload a few things, no big deal.  But what about next year when the anniversary update comes out? Will I have to go through the same thing? Is this going to be a yearly ritual?

No, it will not. I’ve given Microsoft ample opportunity and they blew it. I’m not going to go through this again with them.

I’ve used Linux operating systems on several computers and have upgraded the operating system on those computers with absolutely no problem.  I have also been intrigued by the Chrome OS. So I will either go the Linux route on my current desktop or buy a new Chromebook. I am going to lose all my apps anyway, so why not?

Either way, this marks the upcoming defenestration of my computer.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

